Problem Of Engine Warning Light Coming On

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 Pipo

Pipo

Need to get Out More

• PipPipPipPip
  • 876 posts
  • Interests:Computer, automotive technics, electronics, MTB, Alpine ski, playing keyboard.

Posted 30 August 2004 - 09:32 PM

As far as I know I’m the only Belgian Speedster driving an exhaust with no cats at all. (extra power) But even after resetting the engine computer, after ca 35km the EML-light comes on :( . As you know some VX with 100 cell (even some 200 cell) sportcat’s have the same problem. It’s mostly very ennoying. But also dangerous, because the engine management system also use the same warning light for other more serious problems who need your immediate attention. And because the EML-light is already on, you wan’t notice :o ! Because after asking around, nobody seemed to have found a solution (except for putting the original cat back under :) ), I studied the principles of Cat’s and Lambdaprobes, and designed my own electronic circuit which emulates the signal of the second Lamda-probe. I hooked it up to the engine computer via the original probe-plug and I drove with it up to now for about 500 km. And I can officially confirm. It works! :groupjump: I mounted the component with some velcro in the trunk, to shield it from the dirt and heat. For the moment I’m testing in which range I can let the output-signal vary without the EML-light coming on (just for fun). Attached are photo’s of the mounting and the circuit.

#2 Pipo

Pipo

Need to get Out More

• PipPipPipPip
  • 876 posts
  • Interests:Computer, automotive technics, electronics, MTB, Alpine ski, playing keyboard.

Posted 30 August 2004 - 09:33 PM

And a picture of the mounting

#3 Thorney

Thorney

Whipping Boy

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,404 posts
  • Interests:Global domination.

Fluffy bunny rabbits.

Posted 31 August 2004 - 07:40 AM

Why not just get an exhaust which doesn't set off the EML?

#4 Whiteboy

Whiteboy